Contest Update

Hey there peoples!

This is just a small update on the art contest on Deviantart, well and some randome stuff. You know me...

So! The current status is: 10 officially entered members + 7 entries. A few other artists communicated their interest towards me so there may be more entries coming.

Due to some rule changes on Deviantart I added a general price for every officially entered member. Each of them will receive 50 points and a participation certificate as thanks for their effort. Also I was thinking about adding the additional points and prizes the moment an 11th artist joins the contest officially. What do you think? I guess 4 prizes out of 11 contestants would be alright. And a fifth will be added if... hm... if there are 14 or 15 contestants.

To be honest, at first I didn't think even 3 people would enter the contest, not to mention 10 and I didn't think that each entrant would actually make an entry so I'm really happy how things turned out. Okay so far there is only one entry that covers the bonus theme but that's alright. It's cool to see so many art works for Irma Taranee and Hay Lin! After all that was the major idea behind it all!

Apart from that I'm slowly getting along with my commissions. It's a slow process because we're still finalizing the move, have to do some final arrangements so I don't have that much time after work to draw. Now I won't be able to do much on my birthday either because my sis and parents pretty much told me I have to do something with them. I could scarcely get my granny and uncles to stay away... sounds mean but I'm really not up for that this year. I've seen my parents really a lot lately and they start doing everything for me if I just mention it. I don't want that! Geez I'm grown up, I know how to clean and how to call people to get something done! Meow meow!!! Haaaaah... I know they mean well but I really wanted to have my birthday to myself. Instead I'll be doing stuff for the apartment again, then a friend is in town that I haven't seen in a while and so on...

But I got some cool books on drawing digitally for free from a friend! So I'll be able to make my drawing style a little better maybe. First trial will be Ivan's picture since I really want it to look stunning! The next things uploaded will however be smaller commissions, since I just want to get them done... 

Hm... on Voices of Ilya I'm currently wondering if I should continue in english or write in german and have it translated later on. I can't say if my english is good enough... But I asked some native speaking relatives to check out a few pages and tell me what they think so after that I'll be able to get back writing.

On the writer's website I have my first client which is really cool!
Highest amount of visitors was 40. That's pretty nice too. considering that I still didn't do everything possible on the advertisement front.

Waaa time is going so fast again! Wanted to do all kinds of pictures but maaan this annoying move and everything related to it blocks me more than I had expected!!



Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 7
  • #1

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Mittwoch, 30 September 2015 14:49)

    Yes, the contest going well so far, we've got beautiful drawings. I hope we will get even more entries! :) It will be interesting to see the result after you use the methods from the new books. :) Congrats for your first client writer! Good luck with evrything! :)

  • #2

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 30 September 2015 15:19)

    Hihi yes me too! Soooo cool! I might host another contest next year. It's actually quite fun hosting one instead of participating. Not that much work either hehe. And I have something to use my DA points for :D A win win situation!
    Thanks again for your great help so far!

    Yeah I hope there will be a change at all XD Really want to get a bit better in digital drawing. So far it's okay-ish but especially when it comes to coloring I'd like to get better. Maybe those books can help me. Got a nice volume on adding details like hats, glasses, or objects to a character, too which is nice. And some research material on the many kinds of beings that come from legends and fairy tales but are not that famous.

    Thank you!! I'm excited to see the other picture to your WITCH idea there! Do you know when it will be finished?

  • #3

    Cole (Mittwoch, 30 September 2015 19:43)

    When it comes to VOI I think it depends on which is easier for you and saves you some time. I've never seen an issue with your English, so I think you can keep it going.

    This picture of Ivan's. Is it connected to the C.H.Y.K.N series or is it something new?

  • #4

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Donnerstag, 01 Oktober 2015 05:41)

    @Yangi The artist who draw the second commission for the project told me yesterday that she will send me the picture untill the end of the week! ^_^ I'm glad that you're waiting for it!
    @Cole It's a W.I.T.C.H. related project as the former Guardians have a part of it as well as characters like Orube, Elyon etc. I know you haven't DA account so here I uploaded for you the picture and the text for it: http://i57.tinypic.com/2aabofk.jpg http://www78.zippyshare.com/v/E7j1DLia/file.html I hope the links will work for you. If you like it you could give me your e-mail so I would send to you the next parts when they're done.

  • #5

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 01 Oktober 2015 09:16)

    Well funny thing is that I can't really imagine writing VOI in german... but I still want to know how well my english is. If it's okay for an adult novel thing or if it's simpler and more in the direction of teen novels... Just from the writing style and use of vocabulary, not the theme of the story.

    Well the picture I mentioned is his next commission for CHYKN and the Frozen Hazard project. But he does have that other thing going on at the moment that sounds interesting.

    Thanks for sending the links by the way! And awesome that the artist is almost done with the next picture! I'm curious to see what it will show.

  • #6

    Cole (Donnerstag, 01 Oktober 2015 09:39)

    @Yangi. Well when it comes to something like that level of a specific I don't think my opinion would be of much help. I've never paid attention to things on that level before.

    @Ivan. Yes the link the works for. And the picture is wonderfully done! Which is too be expected from NIkly, her great art I'd recognize anywhere.

    As for my email. CHAOSxWITCH@gmail.com.

    Just let me know its you when you send something to me the first time.

  • #7

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Donnerstag, 01 Oktober 2015 13:00)

    @Cole I'm happy you like the first part. As soon as the artist send the new drawing to me I'll send it to you. :)