Let's get it started


Hello again!

Still bothered by the entire moving situation sadly. Hopefully I'll be able to celebrate the end of all of it soon! God damn I can't wait! Have to make all kinds of calls, write mails, ask here and there, tell people this and that, call again, make sure everythings alright and the whole "We're paintnig our apartment" isn't going too smoothly either. Finished one room this Saturday. Just one bloody room! We have to make the kitchen, the hallway and the big room still.

But there's some great news, too.

1. My sister's coming back from Asia this thursday
2. I opened a new website and a project called "Young-Imagination" to support young
    writers. You can check it out here: http://www.enny-wilsbrook.com/

3. I'm going to record a song next week (real recording, yus, so excited!)
4. Came up with a nice ghost short story over the weekend that is almost finished
5. Have an idea for a new artistic picture series that I want to do to get back to the whole
    "put feeling into your pictures" and found a website where I'm allowed to sell fanart as
    well, so I might bring up some WITCH stuff there on the long run.

But man, I'm missing the drawing! Learned some great new tricks at work for photoshop but my computer's still not set up since I wouldn't have time to draw anyways. Too much going on at the moment and it's kind of annoying.

Let's hope I can get my work finished fast so I can get the entire week off next week and finally start the contest and continue my work on some commissions, those kind of things!


Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 15
  • #1

    Cole (Montag, 31 August 2015 17:26)

    It seems like you already have so much going on! Do you ever have any actual downtime or is having so much going on part of your downtime?

    I really wanted to help advertise that new site of yours. I was actually just going to do one big description of it on my Welcome page. But I haven't been able to find the best words to detail it.

  • #2

    Yangi (Montag, 31 August 2015 20:56)

    No worries I only just got started. I appreciate any advertisement, likes and support whatsoever very much! The whole thing will probably take some time for others to notice, if I turn out 'sucessful' at all. Up until then I planned on putting advertisement here and there every once in a while instead of everything at a time. I think that might work better on the long run. So you can take your time with the ad on your site. Maybe get to know my new page a bit better, though you already grasped the main idea behind it haha!

    And no, there's not really such thing as a "downtime" for me. If I'm not at work, I write or draw something, compose or build. I have to be really tired or sad to not do anything. Okay I enjoy watching a movie. But generally I get bored very easily and need some kind of entertainment or riddle to solve to occupy myself. I like daydreaming or watching the wind move through grass or trees, watching rain or the sea. But I rarely have such calm moments.

  • #3

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 11:56)

    The new site looks really cool! :) And I'm looking forward to the new picture series - I'm glad to read WITCH will have a part in it! :)

  • #4

    Cole (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 15:11)

    I actually meant to ask about this earlier and somehow it completely slipped my mind.

    On number 5 you mentioned a site where you could actually see fanart!? I wonder what makes this site so special to allow something like that. We've had long discussions on the issue of selling fanart, so I'm really curious about this.

  • #5

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 15:26)

    Yeah I don't know why they allow it and why others don't. Maybe it has something to do with the laws of the countries the different sites were created in? I don't really care either. It's just a nice thing so I can sell my stuff on fancy metal plate pictures hihi!
    It's really pretty cool! But I have to work hard to make the pictures look even better!

    Wanted to do that anyways so it's a good thing.

    @Ivan: Thanks a lot! Haha yeah. Can never get rid of WITCH somehow. Just like it too much. The new picture series itself won't have anything to do with WITCH but on that website I'm allowed to sell fanart, so WITCH pictures. So I want to create a REALLY awesome picture of WITCH that I can upload and sell there! Maybe I'll rework one like the Sweet like Honey pic for that purpose or whatever. Or I'll come up with a completely new picture. Hm... I'll have to think about it.

    Would you guys rather like to see WITCH in one of their transformations (if so which one?) or in normal attire? Or a grown up picture of them all together? Maybe even both haha! XD Hm... Oh! I could do two pictrues, one of them older as a group and the other kind of mirroring the first picture but this time they're in their transformation outfits? Something like that. haha I have to think about it.

  • #6

    Cole (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 15:39)

    Well I don't think you need to rework Sweet like Honey. I think its perfectly fine as it is, so I'd say a new pic would be best.

    You have done a few older versions of them lately, so my initial point might be to say to go with something a little different. But then you threw out that mirroring idea of them being older and then a follow-up to that with them in their transformed outfits, so now I'm not too sure.

  • #7

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 15:55)

    My work load's not getting less by saying this but how about this:
    Instead of two pictures mirroring each other, how about a tiny animation frame by frame? What I mean is, in one picture, Irma is eating an apple as a teenager, the middle image shows how she drops the apple by accident in her tranformation and the third picture shows how the apple drops onto Hay Lins head when they're all gronw up. That could be really fun to draw. But it's wuite some work uhum! But it would be cool,...

  • #8

    Cole (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 16:25)

    It does sound very interesting!

    I kinda liked the idea of all of them together though. The animation does sound like a wonderful idea and generally I prefer animation over a still picture. But this is one time when I want to lean more towards all of them together.

    It does sound like a shorter animation then the one you are working on for VOI, so if you want to just experiment with an easier animation I can understand that. I have no issue with the idea of an animation. I just generally find myself more often then not going for all of the girls together over fewer of them together.

  • #9

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Mittwoch, 02 September 2015 19:06)

    Both ideas about the drawing with mirrors and the animation sounds interesting for me but if I have to choice one I think the animation would be cooler. :)

  • #10

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 11:30)

    Hm... I think I said something a bit misleading here through calling it "animation". It's not going to move because I would nevre be able to sell that. It's more like a certain moment that is captured through three pictures. But if you put them up in the right order next to each other it looks like a frame to frame animation. Like I said, in one pic Irma attempts eating an apple, the next she drops it because... Will stumbles against her or something and in the third Hay Lin gets it on the head. The positions of the girls would only change very slightly in those three pictures and all of them would be visible in all three. But in the first they are young, the second they are transformed and in the third they are grown up.

    VOI I want to make actual animation so a 2D video. Man I have too many projects XD I should stop taking commissions for a while I guess. You guys can always ask for commissions ro requests but I think for everyone else I'll stop commissions for a while so I can get some of my own stuff done.

  • #11

    Cole (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 16:59)

    Ah, okay. Thanks for clearing that up as I thought you had meant an actual animation video.

    Really I'm not sure what you should go with. I do still lean a little more towards all of WITCH together, but really I'd be okay with anything. What you are suggesting does sound rather nice. I just like all of the options.

    Whatever works with your time frame and gives you a little more free time I think would be the best option to go.

    I have too much going on myself to even make a request or a commission. So, so many things I'm working on

  • #12

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 17:29)

    Hahah XD Oh man I think I still didn't manage to clear this up. But doesn't matter. I'll just write that down as an idea and then if I actually find time to do these three pictures you'll get what I was talking about ;) I think you two might like it.
    But you're right I should start thinking about this once I actually have time for it...

    Really? Are you working on your stories?

  • #13

    Cole (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 17:38)

    I'm pretty sure I get the point you are making. Essentially its comparable to something like a flip book, right?

    Something like that. Story related things. Lots of characters mostly. Characters that I think I may know how their personality is, but have no idea how they look.

    I am working on some actual stories, but for the most part they are just one-shots. One of those one-shots I'm working on though is a pretty big and important one to me though.

  • #14

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 17:55)

    Not really... but kind of yes.
    They would be three big pictures you hang onto your wall. Like posters or framed pictures. Each one works by itself but if you hang them directly next to each other you get the "animation" part I was trying to explain. Then those three pictures turn into an actual scene. Kind of. Maybe I'm too artistic. I don't have a good comparison at hand where that already has been done. I'm pretty sure some person already had that idea. But yeah I have to do commissions first anyways so probably won't be able to get to that this year.

    Ah I see. Sounds good though! It's always troublesome if the personality is there but the appearance is not. At least I always have trouble with that. I'm thinking very visually. If I don't have a picture of that character in my mind then it's pretty hard writing about that person in a way that it's believable. So it's hard to get "into" that character...

  • #15

    Cole (Donnerstag, 03 September 2015 17:59)

    I know that wasn't the best comparison, but I thought saying it was kinda like a flip book was the closest comparison. It may not sound like I know what you are referring too, but I do. I have the whole visual in mind, so I do get it.

    Yes! Exactly! I'm the same way! I have been flipped back the other way and had a character design for a character, but no idea how I wanted them to act.