I'm back!

I'm back from the Game Developers Conference and it was... okay.
I'd expected to be running around with sparkles in my eyes since it was my first big professional conference. It's pretty expensive too! But it was only okay. There were some very nice and inspiring talks but also some you couldn't use at all which made me angry since those were the ones that made me wonder who actually selected the talkers.


But enough of that!
I decided to bring out a book for young and unexperienced writers!

Why?
Because I've been asked too many times about the same things and because especially young writers tend to get bullied by professionals in different forums simply because they're not as well educated on the the topic just yet. So this is my contribution to support our writers!

What?
I came up with the idea just lately when I was answering another one of those typical questions and apparently I do have some unknown approaches so I decided to take my How To's which you can also see here on the website, structure them and turn them into a book that hopefully will turn into a tool later on for other hobby-writers such as myself. Okay I guess I'm partially professional by now. Actually I am professional XD Nevermind! There'll be practical check lists, examples and all that stuff in there as well to turn it into an actual tool-box.

When?

That I can't say. I'm aiming for the end of the year.
It's not that terribly much work to write down the tips (it's not going to be a huge big book, more of a smaller ebook that might be updated every now and then) however since I'm moving and pretty good at distracting myself I might take longer than originally anticipated. Not sure about the format yet either. That's probbaly going to take most of the time in the end to make everything look nice and organised.

So yeah that's the news. I want to upload it to an ebook publisher where you can get it on different platforms such as amazon etc. too and it will first be published in english and later I'll translate and publish it in german as well.

Might not be too interesting for you guys but felt like sharing it with you nontheless. I'll announce some more once it's finished.



Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 4
  • #1

    Cole (Montag, 10 August 2015 14:06)

    YAY!!!

  • #2

    Yangi (Montag, 10 August 2015 14:18)

    Haha! wow that was fast!

  • #3

    Cole (Montag, 10 August 2015 18:32)

    Yeah, I has just stopped by here and saw the blog. It only sad I'm back! at the time though, so I didn't get a chance to respond on this other stuff as I didn't know it was here.

    I think its a nice idea. I've used some of your writing suggestions before and they've helped me a lot. I think the biggest thing though is that I've written so many random one-shots that while it helps me grow a tiny bit each time, the main thing is that I've become more comfortable with how I do things.

    I think that's the first thing that a writer needs to focus on. Finding a style that they are comfortable with and writing more for themselves then anyone else.

  • #4

    Yangi (Dienstag, 11 August 2015 12:09)

    Well said! I definately agree. You first need to find yourself, what you like to write, what your good at to write, and HOW you're best able to write. Once you've found that out at some point you're able to write for others as well if one wants it.

    Though I have to confess that even though I write professionally, I always try to make it interesting for me so it feels as if I was writing it because it's fun, because I want to write it, not because I'm being paid for it. Haaah yes I'm really looking forward to this book. I hope it will help some people, especially young writers. I'm really looking forward to working on the Voices of Ilya teaser trailer or concept trailer however you want to call it but that might take some time. My computer isn't even set up yet XD Kind of annoying since I wanted to start the contest soon but I didn't have time to finish the Logo thingy...