Why does the bunny cross the road?

It’s so weird, I’m already in the mood for easter! Usually I don’t realize easter is even about to happen until it’s just a day away. I guess that’s the curse of game design for online games. Each holiday needs to be prepared at least one month early and since I have to come up with a nice event idea, with questlines and items, I have to get myself into the right mood to make something fitting.
So in most cases I’m in the mood one month early and already had my share of holiday feelings before the holiday even starts. Kind of impractical.

Oh but I came up with a lovely idea for this year’s Easter questline!
It’s an easter egg hunt and each quest of the questline is titled with a phrase like the title of this blog entry. The answer to that question is hidden in the quest-description OR the quest-completion text. With these answers the players can participate (on free basis) in a facebook contest. At least that’s the idea.

Anyways, there’s a Disney design contest going on and I really want to participate! Why? I can’t say. I just want to. I already decided that Ariel will be my victim. Some years ago I loved to draw her in different variations with new clothes, different hair styles, etc etc. Plus I’ll be giving contest prices again sometime around May for a mermaid contest. Which means, if I post this Ariel picture I can swat 4 flies at a time!!!
1. Revive nostalgic of drawing Ariel in different styles (SMACK!)
2. Take part in a Disney contest (BAM!)
3. Show the contestants of the Mermaids-in-May contest that I can draw mermaids (KA-PLUI!)
4. Draw an Easter picture for the very first time! (… KA-BLAMO!!!)

TADA!
Don’t get your hopes up too much. I want to keep this a real small thing this time. Just a small drawing - bit more than a sketch. Or rather… a lineart with some soft coloring… hm. Anyways I don’t want to use up too much time for this!



Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 12
  • #1

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Freitag, 06 März 2015 15:24)

    I'm looking forward to see your drawing of Ariel - I used to like this movie when I was younger. :D

  • #2

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 16 März 2015 09:47)

    Nice chibi Rein!

  • #3

    Yangi (Montag, 16 März 2015 11:30)

    Pfuhihihi! Thank you!! First picture I ever commissioned and I'm more than satisfied! Sooo lovely!

    And I don't want to brag but the Ariel picture is pretty nice! Kind'a proud of it! I'll upload it wednesday evening or thursday morning most probably.

  • #4

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 16 März 2015 11:59)

    Its interesting that you are doing an Ariel pic as I bought the movie not too long ago.

  • #5

    Yangi (Montag, 16 März 2015 12:39)

    Really? Such a classic story. Like the Disney version very much!

    I had thought about some other Princess. I wanted to draw merida sometime but since I've never drawn her and the style is a bit different than classical/old school Disney I'd like to have a bit more time for that.

    This is more of a fast scrible that turned out better than espected and is mainly for the purposes named above. You know. It's fun and I liked Ariel a lot and I haven't drawn any mermaids in a very long time... and the contest came just in time. Of cause a lot of other people drew Ariel. I was reconsidering my choice of character when I discovered that. But I really wanted to draw her and no-one else for that specific thing so... if I don't win I still have a nice drawing of Ariel :D

  • #6

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 16 März 2015 13:08)

    What is the TADA for? Am I missing something?

  • #7

    Yangi (Montag, 16 März 2015 13:51)

    Oh you mean the "TADA" in the blogtext?

    That's just a random exclamation. I just like the word.
    Like "Tada! That's the plan!" or whatever...

  • #8

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 16 März 2015 15:15)

    What I meant was that with the TADA it sounds like you have some new pic posted here. But I haven't seen anything so far that I haven't already seen.

  • #9

    Yangi (Montag, 16 März 2015 16:29)

    Nah, if there were a new picture I would have explicitly named it or written it in bold letters. The Ariel picture should be online wednesday or thursday and a second pic might follow the weekend after latest.

    Here it was just a tada for the "look what a nice plan I have!" ... something like that. :D

  • #10

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 16 März 2015 16:37)

    Ah, okay. Now I get it.

  • #11

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Dienstag, 17 März 2015 09:39)

    Chibi Rein is cute!

  • #12

    Yangi (Dienstag, 17 März 2015 09:45)

    hihi! Thanks!