Disney with glasses & Studies with long hair


To answer the very fist question:
No, there are no new pictures to look at yet.

This is just another update and random stuff kind of blog article.


As you know I was in London this week and it was absolutely terrific!  I had loads of fun and so much variety, it’s incredible!


As for the title: We went to this huge Disney store in London where the entire down floor was filled with Frozen merchandise!!! An entire floor just for that one movie!!! Can you believe it? I couldn’t so I went down to check and OMG it really was an entire floor! Anyways there was some very nice stuff down there and I had to stop my purse from frantically jumping out of my pocket, coins being dragged out magnetically by lovely dolls, cups and plushies.

The glasses, … well I need some. It’s strange since I used to have exceptionally good sight but for a year or so I noticed that especially during night time I can’t see that well anymore so I’ll get myself some “emergency” glasses that I can wear when my eyes are very tired or during driving etc.
Same with the long hair. I have long hair now. Hadn’t for quite some years so it’s kind of weird to have it grown back and be… everywhere!

The studies refers to two things.
1. I was at a get together of European adventure game designers which was really cool but most of all it was enlightening and very educational. I made lots of notes so I can improve my JROCK Game even further. Made me think about some essential conceptual things that really might make it better.

2. I was in a book shop in London. Not special you say, but – Oh, how wrong one can be! It- was-glorious!!! A huge collection of old and new books stacked high against the walls of that small book shop. There were true treasures in there! I for example found an unlectured copy of a book from Disney that will only be released in 2015!!! I have one month left to read it before everyone else! I also found a book of really old ghost stories which I like very much and a very nice and old edition of a famous book for my mom. I had so much fun! And again the coins were drawn out magnetically, though this time I gave in every now and then.

For the next weekend I’ll be working on two pictures I set my mind on. So hopefully I’ll be able to get them finished too. At least I should because I’m not supposed to put all too much thought into those two. But… I know myself so I really have no idea if it’s going to work or not. I’m going to try! I can tell you that much!


Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 17
  • #1

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 07:16)

    What are the two pictures you are going to be working on?

  • #2

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 10:37)

    Since I have two contests left until Christmas and I have to live on something and have a very good chance on winning something there, I'll go for the OrubexCedric Christmas Miracle picture and a CHYNK picture. Probably the Christmas CHYNK picture but depends on how long the other one's going to take me.
    I would have loved to do the WITCH christmas pic soon too but there are 6 people in there and quite some background so that will have to wait until after Christmas I'm afraid. At least the chances are low I might make it before christmas.

    The weekend right before Christmas is reserved for some work on Frozen Hazard and a commission for Sarah so there's no space left either and then I'm no longer with my art computer since I'm visiting my family...

    So yeah that's the current picture plan.

  • #3

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 10:46)

    Ah, I see.

    Sounds like a pretty busy schedule.

  • #4

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 10:58)

    It is. In a way...
    I really thought I would have more time. But now we're visiting family in Denmark my drawing and vacation schedule is kind of messed up...

    Not sure how much I'll be able to get done between Christmas and New year's either... I wanted to use those 2 weeks majorly for arts stuff but well... one week isn't that much at all.

  • #5

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 11:13)

    So when do you think you might have a bit more free time? Not until 2015?

  • #6

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 11:37)

    Hm depends for what. I'm using my freetime for drawing so... Smaller things and other stuff I can do here and there. I can't draw one whole week in a row anyways. Not 24/7 at least.

    But concerning other Art projects like WillxCole or the CHAOS boys picture I really want to get on with or the JROCK project and stuff... yeah that will have to wait until 2015.

  • #7

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 11:39)

    Ah, so a lot of good stuff to look forward to next year, huh!?

  • #8

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 11:46)

    Haha I'd certainly say so yeah!

    Got a nice little plan worked out what I'd like to do next year. Plus four new pictures until new year's isn't a bad thing either, right?

    The CHAOS boys picture is quite high on the list actually since I'd really love to do that now that I've done the concept. Still can't predict when I'll actually be able to get to it. I'd love to push the whole JROCK thing a little too... Or at least set on a drawing style. That's kind of important actually. XD But at least I can continue planning on the game in the meantime. Getting further there continuously too so that's quite cool.

  • #9

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 11:57)

    Yes of course! Getting to see any of your art is always a great thing!

    You've got me really excited to see the result of your concept for CHAOS! And I know it hasn't been a really, really long time since you've done something with JROCK, but it feels like a long time. So it will be great to see something new with them.

    I'd like to say that I have various things planned out for next year, but for me its the same main things its been all year. The thing is though, recently I've just got this feeling that the right ideas are there to finally put me to the point of actually getting a lot of things done for it.

    But its a completely different thing in trying to actually piece together all of the various pieces of the puzzle to actually have the idea.

  • #10

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 12:48)

    Yeah I really want to get going with that picture now! Major problem up until now was the concept, so majorly how I want to present the boys. I didn't really want to have them rowed up waist up with a boring background... So now that I finally have an idea I don't hve time... quite tipical actually. But next year! Maybe I can get some sketching done during christmas vacation so you can see the basic concept of things.

    True it feels like forever since I've last actually drawn anything fro JROCK. I'm constantly planning the game and sketching interface and stuff but I'm not really working on the whole look of the project and that's a bit... unsettling.

    Uh sounds good! Can't wait to see some of your stuff!
    And yeah it's a bit like the game project right now. I guess you just start with some pieces and then work your way through...

  • #11

    Cole Angelheart (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 13:31)

    Something I'd like to know is what about all of the other JROCK stuff?

    You had this whole assortment of things you planned to make and sell of JROCK. Is all of that still planned or it is just about the game for it now?

  • #12

    Yangi (Mittwoch, 10 Dezember 2014 13:55)

    Well for most of the other stuff I would have to get some more art done or more time (like for the books). Since I don't have time for that right now, I started working more on the game. Another good thing about that is, that I can do so during work times since it's some kind of training. That's why I'm momentarily focusing on the game.

    It's also a good thing because it combines some things I wanted to do anyways. For example: I can use the first part of the planned Trailer as Intro for the Game. Same goes for the music. I can use that in the game.
    I'll also need some kind of a cover for the game which would work perfectly to advertise the whole JROCK project in general.
    I'll need to do some character sketching and location drawing and all that stuff which would be nice to have anyways.
    I also sat down thinking about Special Edition items that could go with the game. And of cause the Art book came up once more.

    So when I say "I'm working on the game" it of cause means I'm actually working on the game mechanics and stuff but also on the other things named above. It works like a smaller to do list for me and makes it more organised and goal-focused than before. It's not just "Oh I need some stuff for JROCk.... whichever is fine" but more like "Ah, alright I'll need this and that and that." The whole merchandise comes as soon as I've come to do some more art for the whole Project.

  • #13

    Cole Angelheart (Donnerstag, 11 Dezember 2014 00:37)

    Ah, I see.

    Well its good to know that the whole rest of the merchandise stuff hasn't been scrapped. I am looking forward to seeing the game, but there was a lot of other stuff I'm interested to see too and since you hadn't mentioned them in a while I thought you had done away with them.

  • #14

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 11 Dezember 2014 11:22)

    Anything specific you were thinking about?

  • #15

    Cole Angelheart (Donnerstag, 11 Dezember 2014 11:40)

    Nothing specific, just all of it in general. I think we had this whole list of things that you were planning on having and I've just been waiting for all of it.

  • #16

    Yangi (Donnerstag, 11 Dezember 2014 12:07)

    Hehe yeah I still have a big list what might be possible as merchandise so as soon as I have some workable pictures and set on an art style, I'll be able to check which merchandise I could do. And that's probably the moment when I'll be opening another site for it. Like a sister site to this one.
    I'Ve been thinking about that for a while and I think it only makes sense. So there would be the most JROCK/Voices of Ilya stuff like sketches, shop, game, dress up, whatever I can come up with and here will be the same things as usual. I might also update here as usual on the JROCK stuff with a link to the other site or something... don't know yet I'll have to try that out.

  • #17

    Cole Angelheart (Donnerstag, 11 Dezember 2014)

    I think it could make sense to dedicate your other site to JROCK. If its already JROCK themed, might as well just add in all of the pictures from here and move it all over to there.