Masquerade~!

Soon I'll be going to "Phantom of the Opera"! I'm super excited about it, because I simply love that musicle. I've been there at the age of... 5 or 6 but I still remember a lot. The film is pretty great too so I'm intersted if the new version is going to be as brilliant as the old one.

Well and fitting to that, I came up with an idea for a picture. It is ment to be the entry to a Cornelia Contest on DA but that depends on, wether the coloring will turn out nicely and if I'll even be able to finish it on time. This contest is a huge deal which is why I participate in the first place. The prizes are stounding! And last time I took part in a contest, I finished a lot of pictures afterwards, what I'm hoping for this time as well. That means I would be able to get the commissions done.
I still have two other ideas, though I don't think my very first one can match the masquerade picture. It's a little dark and gloomy, even thouth the dresses will be in the color of champain with lots of glitter, like in the "golden 20ies" and such.

Well, very excited! You can check out the Masquerade LineArt (Cornelia, Taranee and Hay Lin) in the Sketchbook section! And today I added the color test I made for the Frozen Hazard Yan Lin picture in the Gallery. It works for the others too so I'm positiv it's going to look great! Go check it out!!!  

Kommentare: 8 (Diskussion geschlossen)
  • #1

    Cole Angelheart (Freitag, 07 März 2014 00:33)

    Interesting, that really helps explain the general feel and setting of the pic.

    Honestly can't recall having ever actually watched the Phantom of the Opera. I know I never watched a musical of it, but I do think I watched parts of some movie to it, but never cared for it. I like the general feel and story to Phantom of the Opera, but I've never seen it done in a way that I felt it should be done.

  • #2

    Yangi (Freitag, 07 März 2014 09:58)

    I'm a big musicle fan so "Phantom of the Opera" is THE classic . Besides the Music is amazing and there is a masuqerade ball. I love Masquerades!
    I was thinking about drawing some Kind of mirror behind the Girls, where you can see the Manager or camera oder what ever, so the Story for the Picture would turn out like: "Some guy talked the Girls into being part of his new advert campaign" or something like that. I'm not sure though... But they do seem as if they were Advertising something....

  • #3

    Cole Angelheart (Freitag, 07 März 2014 11:01)

    Hmm, well I guess it could be something. Having a bit of a hard time picturing the guy though, he like wouldn't stand out much in comparison. If you do add him in maybe he could be a specific person instead of a random character as that way he could stand out a little.

  • #4

    Yangi (Samstag, 08 März 2014 11:36)

    Yeah I postponed the idea already. It would ruin the Picture...

  • #5

    Cole Angelheart (Samstag, 08 März 2014 19:44)

    Ruin is to strong of a word, its to nice of a picture for one little thing to ruin it. A bit out of place, likely, but I think that's as far as it would be.

  • #6

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 30 Juni 2014 06:02)

    This seemed like a bit of a fitting place to mention this.

    Last night I had this rather interesting dream, it was a bit on a short side, but it felt kinda similar to something like Phantom of the Opera. I can't say how much it had in common with it, since I really don't know much about it. I do know of the mask the Phantom wears which is a big symbol I think for it, but a mask wasn't in this dream, but its really just kinda a general feeling to it.

    It was about something of a taboo love between Will who was of high-class and lived that life style and Cole who in the depths of what I think was an opera house, but it also doubled as a restaurant, so I'm not entirely sure there.

    And there was singing, there was only one song that I recall and it was song by Cole and Will, some parts just being Cole singing, some parts just being Will singing and there being parts where they sang together. They did happily end up together at the end of the dream.

    But when I had the dream and since it felt Phantom of the Opera like to me and I remember you saying how much you liked it and so I thought I'd mentioned having a dream that I think came off a little like it.

  • #7

    Yangi (Montag, 30 Juni 2014 08:39)

    Wow that sounds interesting! :D Will singing... somehow I can't really Picture that. But if she were some kind of aristocrat I think I could. A Duett is always nice especially when the voices fit together nicely. Well the happy ending is a bit... uncertain at Phantom of the Opera but nice for Cole and Will :D Really amazing what dreams you have. I dreamt I was part of some rpg game and my Group was specialized in Hearing out secrets, sneaking around and so. Each night everyone would return to the Castle up on the mountain where they are safe and each morning all Groups would start again, climbing, running and flying down towards the Little town to get their dayly Goal. That was cool too. Had quite some twists in the Story.

  • #8

    Cole Angelheart (Montag, 30 Juni 2014 16:35)

    Yeah, Will and Cole singing was what I found to be a bit odd about the dream, but they did a pretty good job. I have different and unique dreams all of the time, I've actually started writing down the bases for each of them lately as I've always considered doing stories based on them, but since there is normally big chunks of the dream missing or things that don't make sense, its hard to find the right means to make them work.

    I always prefer that my dreams have happy endings, its a lot better of a situation to wake up feeling good after a good dream. If my dreams are happy endings then they are really sad endings or very disturbing endings and those are hard thing to have to wake up from.

    That sounds like an interesting dream. What type of twists did it have?