How To write How To's

Since I can't draw much during work times, but have always something to write with me, I made another "How To" tutorial on writing gap-fillers. It was asked for and I must say on very good reasons. I never really thought of it before but those are the things that are the most annoying for me as well, when writing.

Anyways I still got some ideas for further "How To"s but if there's anything specific any of you might like to know about, feel free to contact me about it and I'll try to come up with something helpfull. I decided to mark the newest "How To"s in the list at the start of that section with a * so that everyone can see which ones are new. That however will only last for let's say 2 days or so, then, the next "How To" uploaded get's the star and the older one disappears. I hope that was not as confusing as it sounded in my mind!

 

Other than that I had to ask for the actual finishing date for the WITCH dontest I wrote about lately. Ehem... Anyways I should be able to post at least the Taranee picture as planned. Hopefully I'll be able to get the Will one done as well but the coloring takes so much time and right now (once more) there's so much going on. But thanks to  this website I now have a digital priority list of my current running projects and so won't lose focus on them.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 4
  • #1

    Cole Angelheart (Freitag, 19 Juli 2013 09:13)

    I don't really know if this one could count for a How To's, since I'm not really sure if that is a specific way to go about it, but describing something.

    It's always been something really hard, even when I have something specific in mind, and would normally know how to describe, but the minute I get to typing it, my mind goes blank and I can't do it. I think its probably more of a person problem then anything else, I'm not sure there is a specific way to go about it, but if there is, its something I'd like to know.

  • #2

    Yangi-mshi (Montag, 22 Juli 2013 10:29)

    That's a specific problem. How you describe objects, landscapes, characters, etc makes a great part of your writing style, therefore there is no direct rule for it. Everyone does it in different ways.

    However it's very helpfull to find that own way of yours by exploring your surroundings more intensely. What do you think, when seeing an apple? Do you remember the scent or taste of it? Do you think of the apple trees or their blossoms? What different colors and shapes can apples have? Green, wine red, half yellow, half red, etc. Do they look shiny as if polished or dull.
    Go around in your town and observe. Observe people wandering about, their many different faces, bodyshapes, walks and talking gestures. Observe nature how raindrops splash onto a pond stirring up circles. Observe the different forms of cars, houses, etc.

    If it helps you, research on buildings. I think researching would do you good in generell. That's what you did with getting opinions from other people, just that usually one goes to some platform on the internet to see what many types of jobs there exist, or goes to the library to read a bit on biology or whatever.

    A good research is the base of every story. Now if you feel you can't grasp your story right, get to researching and it might work up itself. See what other people do. Read books and how they describe, use dialoge or develope their characters. Read tipps or buy a writing book.
    Training is the best way of learning. That means just sit down and try to describe what you see in words. Then turn around and describe something else. You can do that ondifferent days, just make sure to do it because it's a really good pratice. And read a lot! That gives you more vocabulary and helps you, as stated before, how other people do it.

  • #3

    Cole Angelheart (Sonntag, 01 September 2013 20:03)

    How about a How To on sections of a chapter?

    Beginnings and endings of chapters have always be rather hard for me to write. Middles can be a little difficult as well, but way easier then beginnings and endings. It's hard to say which one I have more issues with, but I think I may have to lean a little more on endings.

    Beginnings are difficult for me as to me its the beginning of something that pulls people in, its the rest of that keeps them there and because of that I go through so many different beginnings that it actually gets to a point of the story never getting written.

    Since middles take place in the middle obviously the beginning has already been established and that makes it easier for me to take it in a certain direction and set up for the ending. Not always easy, but easier in comparison to beginnings and endings.

    Endings have always been rather difficult to me especially if its just the ending of a chapter. It's a little easier if its the ending of the story, but can still be a little difficult there, but the only major issue there is sometimes I feel the endings come off a little corny, not a major issue, but still a bit of one.

    When its just the ending of a chapter though things are going to continue on in the next chapter, sometimes even taking place immediately after the ending of the precious chapter. My biggest issue here is since I really don't know how to make that work the right way I always feel that every chapter has to end with something big going on even if the rest of the chapter didn't really call for it. The major thing I did was always have some big fight scene in most of the chapters I've written for stories, or try to make some big twist or cliffhanger happen.

    I really don't think those type of thing are needed for every chapter, otherwise they wear thin very early and not just for the reader, but for the writer as well, I easily get tired of doing those things nearly every chapter, so it would be of great help to have a different approach to go about those things.

  • #4

    Yangi-mshi (Montag, 02 September 2013 12:08)

    Sure, I'll think of something.