Dark creatures and scary bones

Hullo!

Hope you all had a lovely easter holiday!

I was up in Denmark to visit family and it was the sunniest weekend I've had this year!

I was also surprised how relaxing those four days were. I drove a lot around in the car, was down by the beach, hung out with family and was even very productive without my art computer!

That's where the title of this blog comes in.
So here's what I did this lovely weekend on an artistic perspective:

1. Short story
It all started on Saturday where we had nothing specifically planned. I had wanted to start writing again for a long while now but since I'm already very creative at my job, somehow I never felt like writing in the evening again. So Saturday was the first day in a long time where I really really wanted to write something. When I was around 15-17 I used to write some horror short stories every once in a while. Just some small things somethign Halloween-related or just something a little creepy. No gore or such! Very classy and old school like Edgar Ellen Poe. And that's what I did. The title of the short story is "Make a wish and you shall see". I might post it here the next days when I come to translate it. It's a very short one really. But it was a lot of fun writing it! And it brought back a general drive to get creative again.


2. Creature design

After the whole thing with the story went so well, I wanted to draw traditionally since I hadn't done that in a while either. I took my sketchbook and though about what to do. In the end I sketched around and brainstormed about a shadow creature that is supposed to look a little cute but has the potential for creepyness. It's for Voices of Ilya.
You can check out the sketch in the "mood" section.

3. Comic panel planning and rough sketches

Finally, I arrived back home yesterday and still wanted to do something. After the sketching of the creature had been so much fun, I wanted to sketch on a comic I had been planning for a little while. The story of Rein and Sim. And that's what I did yesterday. I started the first... five pages for a comic.


Generally I think you could say I was being very productive! Not sure how far I'll get with the comic in the nearer future, that depends on how well I get the commissions done. After all they're still on first prio. I also have the Voiecs of Ilya promotion comic that I started on. So we'll see which one goes on first. :D

But I had a lot of fun and feel much more relaxed. Had a lot of stress lately and of cause then you're not very... free on your mind concerning creativity.



Kommentare: 9 (Diskussion geschlossen)
  • #1

    yangimshi (Montag, 13 April 2015 16:44)

    I was thinking about what I could do here instead of uploading the stuff you guys see on DA or the dreamers website and I just started on a "how to" for creating or generally tackling games and their developement.
    Also I found some written stuff in english like song texts for certain stories or first chapters of a story or the script for the first episodes of a TV-series or a movie I planned. I might upload some of that stuff here over time.

    other than that I have some interesting pictures coming up next. Beside my commission for the Frozen Hazard project, I'll be working on some new outfits for the CHAOS boys, get a more group-like set of uniforms and finally work with color; I also have some pictures that I gave away as prices to a contest on DA. For that I'll be drawing a female ninja, the main character of Evil Within, something very artsy and a new character for rise of the guardians. I'm really excited and happy I get to draw so many different things and genres!!!

    It's been so long since I last tried to draw anything else but Disney characters. I'll stick to my two styles of cause.

    So yey! lot's of things to look forward to.

  • #2

    Yangi (Montag, 13 April 2015 16:45)

    hm. Okay no idea why that was posted twice... Can't delete one of them either. Oh well.

  • #3

    Yangi (Montag, 13 April 2015 16:45)

    XD And now the second one vanished... WHAT IS HAPPENING?! XD

  • #4

    Yangi (Montag, 13 April 2015 17:19)

    Okay so I've just checked my list and I've got several topics I could write a "how to" about. I'd like to know which one you're the most interested if at all at the moment.

    How to:
    1. overcome a writers block
    2. face the blank page (getting started on a new story)
    3. handle the finish line (decide on title, write the ending, editing, etc.)
    4. work with criticism
    5. write creepy parts or stories (any other theme works too)
    6. create creatures and new vegitation
    7. start a game (turn your idea into a game - basic)
    8. make your idea game-wise (let's get interactive! - advanced)
    9. ... (any specific things you might want to know about characters, story-telling, writing, creating or developing games, relieving stress, whatever)

    So maybe there's something on the list you'd like to know more about. If so or if you have other ideas what you'd like to hear about just tell me.

  • #5

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Montag, 13 April 2015 20:06)

    Yeah, you've been very productive! :D I'm glad that you had so awesome vacation, had fun and relaxted. :) You forgot to mention the commission for yinyi123 that you yploaded yesterday - I fell in love with that pic! I really like how you drew her OCs and how you showed their powers. The creature for VOI looks so cool! I'm looking forward to the VOI promo comic, my commission, the creepy story and everything else that comming on! As for your question about your "How to" idea - it will be interesting for me to read about all processes during the story writing, but let's now say the start - "face the blank page (getting started on a new story)". :)

  • #6

    Ivan Georgiev/Gerganafen (Montag, 13 April 2015 20:09)

    Now I checked and you uploaded the commission in saturday, not yesterday. My bad :D

  • #7

    Yangi (Dienstag, 14 April 2015 10:42)

    Thanks a lot for the compliment! I really wanted it to look nice. Was kind of fun to draw something else in the meantime and helped me a lot in getting some ideas for your sketches that I send yesterday.
    Really happy I could finish it now too haha!
    Yeah it's good I could get the sketches done now so I can finally start on your Cassidy commission. For real with the outfits and lineart etc. It might take a while since it's the first of the series and I have to figure out how I want to do things but of cause I'll try to get it done as fast and good as possible ;) I think once that first one is finished, the other girl's may be done faster.

    'kay I'll make the "face the blank page" soon then.

  • #8

    Yangi (Dienstag, 14 April 2015 15:12)

    Okay I just uploaded it :D

  • #9

    Ivan Geogiev/Gerganafen (Donnerstag, 16 April 2015 11:44)

    Good luck with my commission! :)

    I'm going to read the How to's.